

## NEWFOUNDLAND & LABRADOR DENTAL BOARD BY-LAW # 4

# **Committees & Their Composition**

In this by-law,

- "Act" refers to the Dental Act 2008;
- "Registrar" means the Registrar appointed under the Dental Act 2008;
- "Office Administrator" means an employee responsible to carry out the business affairs of the Board;
- "Assistant Administrator" means an employee who works under the supervision of the Office Administrator;
- "Committee Chairperson" means the person appointed by the Registrar to have all the authority normally empowered to such a position;
- "Quorum" shall be the composition of a committee required to make the activity of the committee constitutional;
- "Board Representative" means a person appointed by the Board or the Registrar to act under the direction of the Registrar to fulfill the requirements of these committees.
- 1. The Registration Committee shall be composed of
  - The Registrar
  - The Office Administrator
- 2. **The Complaints Authorization Committee,** appointed by the Board, shall consist of the following persons to exercise the powers of the committee;
  - 5 members, at least, from the Board
  - 1 member of the 5 to represent the auxiliary groups
  - 1 member of the 5 must be a public representative
  - The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson will be appointed from this group by the Board.

## **Quorum for the Complaints Authorization Committee**

- 3 members of the Complaints Authorization Committee
- 1 of whom is a public representative
- In a case where a Dental Auxiliary is the subject of an allegation then the Quorum shall include a person appointed who represents that particular dental auxiliary

## 3. The Discipline Panel, shall consist of,

- 8 practitioners, at least, appointed by the Board who are not members of the Board, one of whom shall be appointed to serve as chairperson
- 4 members (appointed by the minister) who are not practitioners or board members
- 2 of the ministerial appointments shall be representing the public interest
- 2 of the ministerial appointments shall be representatives of dental auxiliary group

### 4. **The Finance/Audit Committee**, shall consist of,

- three members of the Board,
- one who is Chairperson of the Board
- one who is a Public Representative
- one other member of the Board

### 5. **The Continuing Education Committee**, shall consist of,

- at least three members of the Board each representing their respective discipline
- one person who is not a member of the Board
- the Chairperson can be selected from the group

### 6. The Office Inspection Committee, shall consist of,

- four members of the Board
- one who will act as the Chairperson and selected by the Committee
- one who is a Public Representative
- and two other members of the Board

Effective November 2012 Amended May 2014